RECENT POST

SAUL “EL CANELO” ALVAREZ IS COMING TO THE COWBOY STADIUM


Golden Boy Promotions is bringing world champion Saul "El Canelo" Alvarez (47-1-1, 33 KO’S) v. Liam Smith (23-0, 13 KO’S) to the AT&T Cowboy Stadium on September 17, 2016 for the WBO Junior Middleweight World Championship title. Alvarez, former WBC and WBA Super Welterweight, and WBC Middleweight champion from Mexico is his countries most recognized boxer today whose fan base now expands into the great state of Texas. And that is why this fight couldn’t have been in a better venue which expects a huge crowd to fill up the AT&T Cowboy Stadium this coming weekend, thanks to former world champion Oscar De La Hoya and Jerry Jones, the owner of the Dallas Cowboys.

In his September 2015 fight in Houston, Texas, Saul "El Canelo" Alvarez (47-1-1, 33 KO’S) from Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico destroyed James Kirkland (32-2, 28 KO's) with a vicious third round knockout in front of a capacity crowd at the Minute Maid Park.

He then stepped up into the middleweight division in November of 2015 and defeated Miguel Cotto (40-5, 3 KO’s) by unanimous decision and took the WBC middleweight title that Cotto had attained from Sergio Martinez (51-3, 2, 28 KO’s) in 2014

In his most recent fight, Alvarez defended his WBC middleweight crown against Amir Khan (31-4, 19 KO’s) from England and knocked him out in the sixth round to defend his WBC title.

Now, Alvarez returns to the ring for the WBO Junior Middleweight World Championship title that Smith will be defending for the third time since he won the title in 2015 against John Thompson (17-3, 6 KO’s).

In addition to the WBO Junior Middleweight title that Alvarez and Smith will be challenging for, the scheduled undercard event will showcase Gabriel Rosado vs. Willie Monroe, Jr. in a 12-round fight for the vacant WBO Inter-Continental Middleweight Title, Joseph Diaz, Jr. vs. Andrew Cancio in a 10-round fight for the NABF Featherweight Title and Diego De La Hoya vs. Luis Orlando Del Valle.

AT&T Cowboys Stadium doors open at 2:00 p.m. CT, first fight and the RingTv.com live stream begins at 3:20 p.m. ET/2:20 p.m. CT/12:20 p.m. PT; the preliminary live stream begins at 6:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. CT/3:30 p.m. PT on HBO Boxing YouTube page and select pay-per-view channel providers; with the four fight pay-per-view card produced and distributed live by HBO Pay-Per-View and also available via live stream on www.goldenboyppv.com beginning at 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT/6:00 p.m. PT.

Pre-Fight Week Activities:

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 13

12:00 p.m. LIAM SMITH & PPV UNDERCARD MEDIA

WORKOUTS -

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

Location: Gaylord Texan Resort Hotel- Longhorn

Exhibit Hall F

12:00 p.m. - Andrew Cancio & Luis Orlando Del Valle

12:30 p.m. - Willie Monroe Jr.

1:00 p.m. - Joseph Diaz Jr. & Diego De La Hoya

1:30 p.m. - Gabriel Rosado

2:00 p.m. - Liam Smith

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 14

2:00 p.m. CANELO ALVAREZ MEDIA WORKOUT & UNDERCARD ARRIVAL

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

Location: Gaylord Texan Resort Hotel- Longhorn Exhibit Hall F

2:00 p.m. - Canelo Alvarez

2:30 p.m. - Anthony Yarde & Vergil Ortiz Jr.

3:00 p.m. - Zachary Ochoa & Sadam Ali

3:30 p.m. - Joshua Franco & Hector Tanajara Jr.

4:00 p.m. - Eddie Gomez & Alexis Salazar

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 16

11:00 a.m. CANELO VS. SMITH SPONSOR FIESTA –

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

Location: AT&T Stadium - East Plaza next to the Sky Mirror

1:00 p.m. AT&T STADIUM DOORS OPEN FOR CANELO VS. SMITH OFFICIAL WEIGH-IN - OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

Location: AT&T Stadium - East End Zone, On-Field

2:30 p.m. CANELO VS. SMITH OFFICIAL WEIGH-IN BEGINS

Watch Live: www.RingTv.com, www.Facebook.com/GoldenBoyBoxing & HBO Boxing’s YouTube Page: https://youtu.be/KJsWox9Z4Ys

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 17

2:00 p.m. CANELO VS. SMITH SPONSOR FIESTA –

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!

Location: AT&T Stadium - East Plaza next to the Sky Mirror

2:20 p.m. FIRST FIGHT, ALL PRELIMINARY BOUTS BEGIN

8:00 p.m. HBO PAY-PER-VIEW TELECAST BEGINS

10:00 p.m. APPROXIMATE TIME OF CANELO VS SMITH